Reviews

What people are saying about The Shard Riverside Inn




Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

This was a last minute decision to stay overnight in the area and we were delighted with the Shard Riverside Inn. The accommodation was first class with a view over the river, the dinner was delicious and staff very friendly.

Reviewer:Derek Rose | Tue 11th Jul 2017


Superb! - Rating 5/5

Excellent staff. Lovely accommodation and brilliant food.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter Carlton | Tue 4th Jul 2017


Lovely stay- Rating 5/5

Room overlooking the River. Lovely food and breakfast. Will definitely stay again!!

Reviewer:claire taylor | Sun 2nd Jul 2017


Excellent place to stay - Rating 5/5

I stayed at this Hotel for one night on 14th June 2017. The check in was swift and painless, none of the usual forms to fill in.My room,no 1, was clean and comfortable although the window was at the same level and overlooking the car park. The staff were excellent and I was made to feel welcome. The location was superb especially for a pre dinner drink on the terrace overlooking the river. Dinner was well presented and tasty, I recommend the suet pudding breakfast was also excellent.Overall a great place to stay

Reviewer:Terry Roper MBE TD | Wed 21st Jun 2017


The Shard Riverside Inn - Rating 5/5

Highly recommended.Pleasant and friendly staff nothing too much trouble.Food was great.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan Wallis | Thu 8th Jun 2017


a pleasant stay at The Riverside - Rating 4/5

Stayed for 1 night only but enjoyed ourpleasant stay. Lovely restaurant too and very friendly staff.

Reviewer:Mrs. sarah leyshon | Mon 5th Jun 2017


Comfortable Stay - Rating 4/5

Room clean and comfortable. Good absolutely delicious. Staff pleasant and helpful

Reviewer:Carol Trocchi | Sun 4th Jun 2017


Early summer at Shard Riverside Inn - Rating 5/5

Beautiful situation. Room ,overlooking The Wyre and offering a magical view , was clean, well-equipped and attractively furnished.Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice, served by extremely helpful, efficient staff. Outdoor seating aplenty offered a welcome opportunity to sit outside for supper on a very warm evening. The menu was broad;the service was accommodating and pleasant ;the prices satisfactory.An excellent experience.

Reviewer:Mr. richard lang | Sat 27th May 2017


Early simmer at The Shard Riverside Inn - Rating 5/5

Beautiful situation. Room ,overlooking The Wyre and offering a magical view , was clean, well-equipped and attractively furnished.Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice, served by extremely helpful, efficient staff. Outdoor seating aplenty offered a welcome opportunity to sit outside for supper on a very warm evening. The menu was broad;the service was accommodating and pleasant ;the prices satisfactory.An excellent experience.

Reviewer:Mr. richard lang | Sat 27th May 2017


Exemplary Accommodation - Rating 5/5

Quality accommodation, situation and surroundings.Add to this friendly staff and excellent food - What more could you require ?

Reviewer:Mr. Fred Robinson | Fri 19th May 2017


Room with a view ... - Rating 5/5

Just back from a very enjoyable two-night break at the Shard Riverside. This was our first visit ... but it won\'t be our last. Good sized and very comfortable room with a great view over the river. Friendly, efficient staff and great food. We\'ll be back!

Reviewer:Mr. Peter Wright | Fri 12th May 2017


Overnight stay- Rating 5/5

Lovely food, room and view. A very relaxing stay. Many thanks!

Reviewer:Mr. stephen taylor | Sat 6th May 2017


Great stay - Rating 5/5

We had a super stay with lovely views and great food, would strongly recommend The Shard.

Reviewer:Mrs. Margaret Coates | Tue 2nd May 2017


Excellent Breakfast - Rating 5/5

Comfortable room, friendly, helpful staff, and an excellent HOT breakfast with no grease in sight. Well done.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Walker | Sat 22nd Apr 2017


Best Hotel - Rating 5/5

Wonderful clean rooms.Great service off staff.Best meals in Town

Reviewer:Mr. gilbert griffin | Thu 20th Apr 2017


A GREAT HOTEL IN AN IDYLLIC SETTING - Rating 5/5

It was a great pleasure to be back at The Shard. The setting is magic and the accommodation was, as always, extremely comfortable. We are always impressed by the consistently high quality of the food and the friendly, caring staff who go out of their way to be helpful. We look forward to being back again in June.

Response

Thank you very much for your lovely comments.It is a pleasure having you stay at The Shard as always and we look forward to you visit with us in June.

Reviewer:Mr. William Weaver | Tue 18th Apr 2017


Nice Hotel - Great Food - Rating 5/5

Stayed for 1 night with my 2 sons when visiting the area for football. Hotel is in a lovely setting, rooms are basic but comfortable, and the bar / restaurant area is very nice. Had dinner in the restaurant which was excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Hill | Tue 18th Apr 2017


Great Service & lovely setiing - Rating 5/5

The hotel was lovely! The staff were very accommodating and allowed us in early to our room which was handy as we were off to a wedding and needed to get changed first.

Reviewer:Mrs. CharlotteOloughlin | Tue 18th Apr 2017


Lovely stay- Rating 5/5

Lovley location...Room was very comfortable with plenty of tea and coffee. Nice size shower and everything was very clean and warm.The bar was very comfy and the staff were lovely . Breakfast was great . Full English was fab and plenty of buffet to choose from. Staff were very friendly very competent and couldn\'t do enough for us..All in all a fab stay and would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sandra Brooks | Tue 18th Apr 2017


Weekend break - Rating 4/5

Clean comfortable room. Good freshly cooked breakfast

Reviewer:Dr. Eric Troughton | Mon 10th Apr 2017


Our stay, 2nd April 2017 - Rating 4/5

Very enjoyable, comfortable stay. Beautiful weather meant the bar and restaurant were busy during the day. A couple of favourites weren\'t available on the Sunday evening meal menu. Otherwise, all was good - we\'ll be back.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter West | Tue 4th Apr 2017


Our stay 2nd April 2017 - Rating 4/5

Very enjoyable, comfortable stay. Beautiful weather meant the bar and restaurant were busy during the day. A couple of favourites weren\'t available on the Sunday evening meal menu. Otherwise, all was good - we\'ll be back.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter West | Tue 4th Apr 2017


Friendly & welcoming- Rating 4/5

Stayed here on a short break whilst attending family business. Clean room, bed a little firm for my liking but a good nights sleep was had. Lovely breakfast with a view over the river.

Reviewer:Mrs. LynnSmalley| Sun 19th Mar 2017


Great stay - Rating 4/5

Had a room with a wonderful view over the river. Staff were extremely helpful, room was lovely and clean. Bar area and restaurant excellent with a great choice of food and wine. Just a short drive to the sea and good location for places of interest. Will definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter Bradley | Sat 18th Mar 2017


14th January 2017 - Rating 4/5

Very friendly welcome and service throughout, with good food and a pleasant bedroom.I would stay again quite readily. Two matters to be addressed in Room 12 :the fan in the shower room is noisy and should be replaced whilst the cold water feed to the basin obviously sits against the central heating pipes in the floor so hot water comes out of the cold tap 5s after turning it on for about 10 seconds.The hot water could be turned down to save the hotel money and avoid any potential scolding.Hope that is useful.

Reviewer:Mr. Chris Stone | Mon 16th Jan 2017


One night stay - Rating 4/5

We stayed for one night whilst visiting friends in Poulton. We found the hotel to be spotlessly clean and the staff were very friendly especially the girl on reception when we checked in. Our onlydisappointment was the fact that there was no bottled water in the room and no toiletries, i.e. soap or shower gel or tissues. We feel these should be provided in a £100 room.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert McGill | Fri 30th Dec 2016


Very Enjoyable- Rating 5/5

Very friendly welcome on arrival. We were able to leave our bags in the room before our check in time. The room itself was immaculately clean, very warm and excellent facilities.Had one of the best nights sleep we\'ve ever had in a hotel. Breakfast was without doubt one of the best we\'ve had. Locally sourced fresh produce beautifully cooked. Good selection of cereals and fruit juices. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.All in all a very enjoyable experience and we\'ll definitely be back

Reviewer:Mr. John Booth | Tue 6th Dec 2016


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Excellent place to stay, watch the tide come in in the morning whilst having breakfast absolutely fantastic

Reviewer:Mr. Steven Ratcliffe | Thu 10th Nov 2016


A little gem - Rating 5/5

Beautifullocation, clean comfortable accommodation, excellent food and very friendly staff, couldn\'t ask for anything better, highly recommend.

Reviewer:Miss. Kerry Kendrick | Mon 24th Oct 2016


Great hotel - Rating 5/5

A cracking hotel in a really pretty location. The haddock and poached egg breakfast made it even better. Really good value.

Reviewer:Mr. Darren Caveney | Fri 21st Oct 2016


Wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

This is the 3rd time in 12 months we have stayed. We really love staying here. The views from the hotel are fabulous the rooms clean warm and nicely furnished. The food from breakfast to evening meal are tasty and well cooked. We cant think of a bad thing to say

Reviewer:Mr. Peter Crummack | Mon 17th Oct 2016


Holiday hotel - Rating 5/5

I had a most enjoyable stay at the Shard and was made to feel most welcome. I had a very nice room with excellent room service. On the whole couldnt have been better and I shall continue staying at the Shard as I have done several times over the past few years.

Reviewer:Mrs. Barbara Grainge | Sat 1st Oct 2016


Excellent riverside hotel - Rating 5/5

Stayed at the Shard for one night whilst in the area on business and found it was just as good as when I have stayed previously.I arrived early and was allowed to check in without any problem. The room was very clean and comfortable with great view of the river.Food and service in the evening was very good as was the breakfast.I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Reviewer:Mr. MichaelStockton | Thu 29th Sep 2016


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Friendly staff, great room with a view over the river, real ale and superb food.

Reviewer:Mr. Tim Sellears | Fri 9th Sep 2016


Great stay - Rating 5/5

We was very happy with the stay plus the staff are very helpful

Reviewer:Mr. Brian Nash | Sun 28th Aug 2016


Beautiful Location, Excellent Food! - Rating 4/5

This was a one night stay whilst on business in the area. My room was comfortable and the location of the Hotel is beautiful! A bird watcher\'s paradise. The food is some of the best I have tasted anywhere and I do a lot of traveling! The staff are friendly and accommodating. The only thing stopping me giving a fifth star is the poor WiFi in the Hotel. The only place I could get on the net and stay on it for any length of time was in the bar. That aside, I will be staying here again!

Reviewer:Mr. Colin Wilks | Thu 18th Aug 2016


Quick stop over - Rating 4/5

Only there for a night but a clean and pleasant hotel with friendly staff

Reviewer:Mr. Peter Cunningham | Mon 15th Aug 2016


Pure delight- Rating 5/5

I travel the UK for Business and spend Monday – Thursday on the road, the Shard felt like a Home form Home and one of the best places I have stayed in a long time.From initial meet and greet, to final departure I can\'t recommend the Shard enough - Only issue was the rain and not being able to enjoy the patio, but the bar and restaurant made up for this is abundance.Refreshing to have staff willing to help – Neil was great in the bar, great attention to detail and a real asset to the establishment.Outstanding value for money, not only on the spacious rooms and amazing shower, but also on the food.Keep up the good work and look forward to rebooking.

Reviewer:Mr. Josh Robertson | Fri 12th Aug 2016


Superb stay. - Rating 5/5

Have stayed several times a the Shard Riverside Inn. Comfortable stay, always sleep well,Spacious well presented rooms, clean & welcoming. Breakfast delicious . Poached eggs perfect!! Enjoyed relaxed environment overlooking estuary.As often come to visit relatives in the area, Riverside Shard Inn is always my first choice Friendly welcoming staff. Hope to visit again soon.

Reviewer:Ms. Elizabeth Fallows | Fri 12th Aug 2016


Mick & Elaine Hards - Rating 5/5

My Wife and I have stayed many times at The Shard and it is the only place we ever consider staying at when we visit my Brother. He lives in Pilling and although there are other places I suppose slightly closer but we would not consider staying anywhere else.The venue is excellent, smart, clean, inviting and all the staff arecredit to your business. See you next time.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael Hards | Fri 5th Aug 2016


A warm welcome, a spotless room and a beautiful view - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Shard Riverside for one night as we were guests at a wedding nearby. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful. The room and restaurant were clean and bright and very quiet over night. We wouldn\'t hesitate to come back again.Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mrs. Michelle Copeland | Sun 17th Jul 2016


Standard double. - Rating 5/5

HUGE evening meal, fish and chips, brilliant. Fantastic breakfast, full English, good coffee. Room was clean and tidy with everything you need. Great views of the river. Very warm but the windows opened wide to allow fresh air in but from around 6am the noise from the bridge woke us up. For the price well worth it.

Reviewer:Mr. Anthony Walker | Thu 14th Jul 2016


lovely stay - Rating 5/5

lovely hotel, nicely out of the way! Wonderful food in the evening with great views, great breakfast too

Reviewer:Mrs. karen hellon | Tue 12th Jul 2016


Friendly establishment! - Rating 5/5

You can usually tell at check-in whether you are going to enjoy your stay - I got a price discount because mine was the last room left [all the others has been sold - sign of popularity]! The establishment was a popular lunch spot if the jam-packed car park was anything to go by! The room was spacious and comfortable and the breakfast filled me up. Great stuff, job done....

Reviewer:Mr. ANDREW SHURMER | Sat 9th Jul 2016


A Great Place to stay in a lovely Location - Rating 5/5

This really is a gem.We have stayed on 3 separate occasions.A beautiful area and fantastic views of the River Wyre.The Inn is lovely.The rooms are very comfortable.the breakfast is excellent and the food for lunch/ dinner really is interesting.very friendly staff.We love it here and are planning another visit.The restaurant is always busy so please book if you want to eat there.So glad we found it.Really do not want to stay in Blackpool, but sometimes we need to be near.

Reviewer:Mrs. Carol Ratcliffe | Mon 4th Jul 2016


enjoyable stay - Rating 4/5

we stayed at the shard as attending a nearby wedding, the setting is very nice over looking the river.The hotel is a mix of old and modern and is attractive, clean and comfortable. We stayed on the the 2nd floor and the room was clean, bright, well maintained and enjoyed lovely views. The bar and dining area are a comfortable place to enjoy food and a drink in and the outside area catches the afternoon sun (guys remember to take a cap)the bed was comfortable and breakfast was very nice, we had full english which comes with adequate toast and everything you could want. All in all we had a very nice stay and we would certainly use again, the small town of poulton looked attractive as we traveled through and well worth a wander around. Would we recommend staying there then yes we definitely would.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Rigby | Wed 29th Jun 2016


One night stay - Rating 4/5

Breakfast excellent , lovely location staff friendly and helpful . Only downside we found the bed too firm.Would definitely stay again

Reviewer:Mr. RobertRickard | Tue 28th Jun 2016


Best Inn in Lancashire - Rating 5/5

The friendliness of the staff,the quality of the food,the cleanliness of the establishment, the superb beer and a stunning location make this an truly enjoyable place for a break.

Response

Thank you so much Mr Robinson it was a pleasure to look after you and your lovely family ,we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewer:Mr. Fred Robinson | Fri 24th Jun 2016


Enjoyable - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed my stay there. The staff are excellent, friendly and helpful. Nice clean room with comfortable bed.Not too keen on the wooden floors, too noisy but that is only my preference,not a complaint. The location is good if you are looking for a relaxed quiet break. The food was good and it is obviously quite popular as was very busy over the weekend.

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen Ormerod | Tue 17th May 2016


Lovely location - Rating 4/5

Lovely location and friendly staff. Room clean & tidy.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jane Kellett | Tue 10th May 2016


good hotel - Rating 4/5

good food and trinks

Reviewer:Mr. Markus Dertinger | Wed 4th May 2016


Friendly - Rating 5/5

Really happy to recommend this hotel , friendly efficient staff

Reviewer:Mr. Elia Auletta | Sun 24th Apr 2016


Friday stay - Rating 4/5

I stayed one night for a wedding double room comfortable for one.Staff very pleasant.Great view of river and would be lovely in a summer to sit out

Reviewer:Mrs. Elizabeth Kemp | Sun 24th Apr 2016


Lovely enjoyable stay- Rating 4/5

We stayed in the hotel before going to a wedding . The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was clean and tidy . A lovely view over the river aswell and overall couldn\'t fault it . It\'s a must try place and will be back one day

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Lamont | Mon 11th Apr 2016


another lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Another lovely stay at the Shard, as usual lovely helpful staff, good food clean rooms. lovely views,good value, cant ask for more

Reviewer:Mr. joseph skimming | Tue 29th Mar 2016


Little gem of Poulton - Rating 5/5

Great setting, lovely well equipped rooms, nice well stocked bar, good menu featuring quality local produce, very friendly and helpful staff, and all for a very reasonable price. I think this is the fifth time I\'ve stayed here, and I\'ll definitely be doing so again. 5 Stars

Reviewer:Mr. James Tulley | Tue 22nd Mar 2016


Recent short break - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed my stay. My room was very comfortable and warm and was very tastefully decorated. Breakfast was also good and very nicely cooked. I cannot fault this hotel and hope to visit again soon

Reviewer:Ms. Maureen Cunningham | Thu 17th Mar 2016


Great stay - Rating 5/5

We had a great stay (sadly only 1 night) at The Shard Riverside Inn.The location is excellent with our room overlooking the river.The food was excellent both at dinner and breakfast.Very friendly and helpful staff.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Bebbington | Tue 23rd Feb 2016


Our stay - Rating 4/5

Very nice friendly pub/hotel with a nice view over the river .A bit expensive for the bedrooms but food good . Would stay again in

Reviewer:Mr. Gavin Berry | Fri 12th Feb 2016


Top Accomodation- Rating 5/5

An excellent peaceful overnight stay as always.Great food in the restaurant in the evening and a top breakfast in the morning to send you on your way. Bob on!

Reviewer:Mr. Craig Cambridge | Mon 8th Feb 2016


superior inn - Rating 5/5

the staff ,views and room were all excellent.

Reviewer:Mr. david major | Mon 8th Feb 2016


Busines & Pleasure- Its a GREAT Base to Start From - Rating 5/5

1st ClassGreat Rooms, Very Clean and Well appointed.Great Food, Friendly and Helpful Staff Fantastic Setting. Very Easy to Access and Park.Highly Recommend 5*

Reviewer:Mr. James Clifford | Sun 7th Feb 2016


Value accomodation - Rating 5/5

Our stay at the shard was very welcoming and great value for money .

Reviewer:Mrs. Caren Joyce Sinkinson | Tue 26th Jan 2016


One Night Business Stay - Rating 5/5

Great location with easy access to Fleetwood /Blackpool/ Thornton. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. Good bar and food, rates reasonable. Refurbishment is impressive. I would recommend the Shard.

Reviewer:Mr. Duncan Duffy | Wed 13th Jan 2016


New Years Eve - Rating 4/5

Stayed here before so know what we are going to get. The rooms are clean and well equipped the service from staff is helpful and friendly the restaurant and bar are a lovely place to eat good food and chill. Will be back again no doubt

Reviewer:Mr. mark mccluskey | Tue 5th Jan 2016


Beautiful Hotel - Rating 5/5

We spent a lovely night in the Shard Riverside. The room was spacious, warm and clean, with stunning views over the estuary.Staff were helpful and the breakfast was first class. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan Marsden | Wed 30th Dec 2015


Thoroughly recommended - Rating 4/5

I used this hotel as a watering hole with friends in our youth and once as a B& B when I left Blackpool after the sale of my late parents\' house so it was a pleasure to return for two nights.We had a signature room which was large, very comfortable, extremely quiet and had lovely views.The restaurant food was generally excellent;my fillet steak was probably the best I have ever eaten.We will stay here again when we are next passing through and look forward to visiting the Hurst family\'s sister hotel, The Mill at Conder Green.

Reviewer:Dr. Keith Thoday | Thu 17th Dec 2015


Excellent! - Rating 4/5

On a business trip - particularly over a number of days - you want excellence. And that is certainly what was provided by the Shard. Very personable staff, the food was very very good and the service provision is what one would expect.

Reviewer:Mr. Keith Parsons | Sat 5th Dec 2015


overnight at Shard - Rating 5/5

as usual high standard accommodation, food and local ales. Best b& b in the Fylde area.

Reviewer:Mr. JohnLiptrot| Fri 4th Dec 2015


Excellent standard - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyed our visit, lovely staff and rooms.

Reviewer:Mrs. Helen Rogers | Mon 9th Nov 2015


Fantastic!!! - Rating 5/5

Excellent staff, rooms clean bright and well laid our.Best of all is the food, great menu and all cooked to perfection, will certainly stay here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Geoff Headen | Tue 27th Oct 2015


Shard Riverside Inn - why wouldn\'t you - Rating 5/5

First stay but had dined a few years back. Top accommodation and excellent food with fresh produce delivered everyday from local suppliers. Staff friendly and a very relaxed atmosphere in the restaurant. Thoroughly recommend and looking forward to staying again

Reviewer:Mr. Steve Hulme | Mon 26th Oct 2015


the stay - Rating 5/5

brillant food great views,very clean rooms. brillant breakfasts, great staff. verythe best i have stayed at for a long time. a must stay hotel.

Reviewer:Mr. john price | Thu 10th Sep 2015


Exactly what we needed. - Rating 5/5

Wee were staying in the area for a friends wedding and wanted somewhere relatively quiet with a good rating to stay.We were travelling with our two children, 5 and 1, and found that ours were perhaps the youngest children staying at the Shard Riverside.Nonetheless the hotel was more than suitable.The family room on the second floor was large and comfortable with good facilities and we all slept very well.The bathroom was a generous size with a shower cubicle rather than a bath.The breakfast was excellent, with top quality sausages and bacon, and the cereal selection and fresh croissants were perfect for the kids.My only quibble would be that the shower water pressure was quite low, and when I ordered toast with my cooked breakfast it came about 5 minutes after the cooked items.All in all we had an excellent experience at The Shard Riverside and would stay again and recommend to friends without hesitation.At £110 per night I thought the rate was perfect for the product.

Reviewer:Mr. CraigWright | Tue 1st Sep 2015


Excellent- Rating 5/5

We found the shard to be the best value for money hotel we have stayed in recent years, it was very clean, excellent views, great food and atmosphere, friendly helpful staff, couldn\'t have asked for more.

Reviewer:Mr. William Lee | Mon 24th Aug 2015


Very pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

My 13-year old daughter and I really enjoyed our stay.Good clean room, excellent food and we loved sitting out looking at the river.The best thing was the very friendly service.We were made to feel very welcome.It\'s a really good option to stay here for peace and quiet rather than Blackpool, which is only a short drive away.We would definitely recommend and would stay here again when we are in the area.I would also choose if I was here on business.

Reviewer:Mrs. Gillian Lees | Sun 9th Aug 2015


We had a great stay at The Shard Riverside Hotel - Rating 5/5

We highly recommend this hotel. We stayed for a 3 night break and loved it. Beautiful location, clean and comfortable room, helpful and enthusiastic staff and delicious food.

Reviewer:Mr. Steven Brett | Sat 8th Aug 2015


Another Stay - Rating 5/5

Again a very enjoyable stay, good service and good food, thanks

Reviewer:Mr. Jimmy Hough | Sun 21st Jun 2015


Great hotel - Rating 5/5

Staying on night before my wedding, very nice room and great hotel. Location is brilliant and bar/restaurant was great.Definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael Ettridge | Thu 11th Jun 2015


Great visit - Rating 5/5

Lovely, clean and warm hotel with friendly staff.Breakfast was great too!

Reviewer:Mr. Ryan McCaffery | Mon 1st Jun 2015


Short stay - Rating 5/5

Have began using Shard whilst working in area and found to be really pleasant, excellent staff. Will be using a lot over next 12 months.

Reviewer:Mr. Jimmy Hough | Sun 31st May 2015


Excellent overnight stay- Rating 5/5

Spotlessly clean rooms. Modern interiors. Very quiet location with lovely views of the river.Helpful and very friendly staff. Have stayed before and we\'ll return again. First class breakfast and nice dinner too. Put this hotel at the tip of your list of you are looking for somewhere to stay anywhere near the Blackpool area.

Reviewer:Dr. Richard Salisbury | Sat 23rd May 2015


great stay - Rating 5/5

good accommodation,good food, but a special mention for the staff,always cheerful and veryhelpful.

Reviewer:Mr. Raymond Goodwin | Fri 22nd May 2015


from David & Janet Holmes - Rating 5/5

First class friendly not too expensive good food good drink good staff so what more could you want

Reviewer:Mr. David Holmes | Wed 20th May 2015


excellent hotel - Rating 5/5

just spent a night at the shard hotel excellent modern rooms very clean nice bar area and terrace friendly staff and a good breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. David Sutcliffe | Mon 18th May 2015


Two night stay - Rating 5/5

Beautiful location next to river,lovely area. Helpful,friendly staff and excellent food. Room spotlessly clean with controllable heating. Enjoyed a very relaxing break and would definitely visit again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Ann Hogg | Sun 17th May 2015


fantastic view - Rating 5/5

Came for one night for our anniversary. Lovely place .nice big room .number 16. Good price . Great view out of our window.lovely food and lovely lady in the restaurant in the evening . Would certainly stay here again.

Reviewer:Miss. tarnia worrall | Tue 12th May 2015


A JEWEL ON THE WYRE - Rating 5/5

.Very relaxing atmosphere,pleasant staff,clean throughout,first class breakfast with some great choices.Bedrooms with stunning views.GIVE IT A TRY.....

Reviewer:Mr. Joseph Woodworth | Tue 5th May 2015


excellent - Rating 5/5

Great place, lovely quiet riverside location,immaculate throughout good menu lovely helpful hard working staff. Stayed three times now and will certainly be back

Reviewer:Mr. joseph skimming | Wed 29th Apr 2015


Enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

Very nice hotel,situated in a lovely spot alongside the River Wyre. The room was a decent size with a comfy bed, clean, warm and the bathroom had plenty of hot water.There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room as well as free wifi and a television.The english breakfast was superb, the hottest we have ever had in a hotel, with lovely toast and tea.We were only here one night but would be very happy to stay there in the future.

Reviewer:Ms. Norma James | Mon 27th Apr 2015


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

Lovely tranquil setting, comfortable accommodation, excellent service and good quality food and drink. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mrs. Pauline Moon | Wed 22nd Apr 2015


Weekend Break - Rating 4/5

We stayed at The Shard from 17th - 19th April and very much enjoyed the experience. We were fortunate to have very good weather and it was the perfect spot to enjoy a sunny afternoon sitting by the river. We ate in the restaurant both nights, the food was good and the staff were friendly and helpful. It was particularly busy on the Saturday evening but the service was still good. Breakfast was very pleasant, looking out over the river, and we enjoyed both the traditional breakfast and the smoked haddock with poached eggs. Our room was warm and comfortable with a well stocked hospitality tray. There was ample storage and the Wi-Fi was consistent throughout. The Stella Artois and Lancaster Blonde were both in excellent condition! We would definitely return in the not too distant future.

Reviewer:Mr. Neil Walsh | Mon 20th Apr 2015


will i come back ??? - Rating 5/5

yes i most definitely will. couldn\'t fault anything..very friendly staff, breakfast yummy and room and hotel very tasteful and clean.

Reviewer:Miss. Caroline Fox | Tue 14th Apr 2015


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming. Excellent dinner- the fish pie just right.Only negative is noise from other guests as they went to their rooms, but was not for long.Breakfast was also excellent. Quality of food very good.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sara Mackenzie | Tue 31st Mar 2015


Friendly modern venue - Rating 4/5

My husband and I stayed one night and found the accommodation to be very clean and comfortable.We had a three course lunch on Mother\'s Day which we all (a group of 4)really enjoyed.The staff were extremely efficient and friendly and the food was excellent.Lovely break and would recommend if you fancy a night of great food, great staff and comfortable accommodation.

Reviewer:Mrs. Diane Conlon-Parr | Tue 17th Mar 2015


A Haven from the Madding Corwd - Rating 5/5

Once again a very pleasant stay. Great rooms, efficient and friendly staff, and a wonderful location.We will be back!

Reviewer:Mr. David Groves | Mon 16th Mar 2015


Wonderful Welcoming Staff - Rating 4/5

Stayed in a family room with our teen daughter to attend a funeral.The hotel is attractive and pleasantly situated. We ate in the restaurant and the food was very tasty. Breakfast was good- Hubby and I both had a cooked breakfast and our daughter had freshly cooked pancakes.Suggestions for improvement- soft looroll would be nice. I know it sounds fussy but the loo roll supplied was very thin and scratchy!please check that sufficient towels provided- there was only 1 medium and 2 small for 3 of us to bathe and wash our hair.Fresh fruit at breakfast.My hubby found it quite noisy (possibly due to lack of carpets in rooms and on stairs).

Reviewer:Mrs. Rosie Brine | Tue 10th Mar 2015


Lovely 2 night stay-will return - Rating 4/5

Great, cosy small hotel with bar and restaurant on the banks of the River Wyre. Our rooms were recently decorated- light airy and modern-very comfy. Restaurant was cosy too and food - lots of local produce and modern traditional dishes were a success with everyone. We will back.

Reviewer:Ms. Judith Hirst | Sun 8th Mar 2015


Nice stay - Rating 4/5

Nice room on the front of the hotel friendly helpful staff

Reviewer:Mrs. Lesley Foster | Mon 2nd Mar 2015


Great stay yet again - Rating 5/5

Can\'t fault this Inn.Have also stayed at sister Inn at Condor Green.They are the best in the area and will continue to use their accommodation when I visit Lancashire.

Reviewer:Mr. Nick Brookes | Mon 9th Feb 2015


Immaculate rooms and fine dining - Rating 5/5

The quality of the food, friendliness of the staff, professionalism of the managementand cleanliness of the whole place will take some beating. I thoroughly recommend a stay at the Shard.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Tucker | Mon 2nd Feb 2015


good choice - Rating 5/5

Very pleased with this hotel,friendly staff,comfortable spacious bedroom. excellentfood,plenty of parking space .I would stay here again if I was needing a hotel in that area.Lovely location on by the river and easily reached from the motorways .

Reviewer:Mrs. CYNTHIA MAWBY | Thu 22nd Jan 2015


Shard riverside - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely overnight stay on a Saturday in January.Very pleasant room with a fabulous view over the river. The restaurant was extremely busy and we realised why, when we had our meal-the food was excellent and service friendly. We would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Julie Gartside | Thu 22nd Jan 2015


Return visit - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome, accommodating staff,(we were able to get the room number we had asked for)excellent food, efficient service - all as usual.

Reviewer:Mr. Frank Horsfall | Wed 21st Jan 2015


Fabulous views - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for one night and booked 2 rooms, 2 adults in one and 2 adults and child in another. Room 20 is amazing, double bed, sofa bed, 2 tv\'s and en suite bathroom. Very clean, excellent decor. Lovley views from window. Evening waiting on staff and breakfast staff were very friendly.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sharon Hughes | Wed 14th Jan 2015


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Once more we have spent a delightful couple of days at the Shard Riverside.We cannot speak to highly of the Shard.There is always a warm welcome, the rooms are very comfortable, the breakfasts are splendid, the dinners are magnificent.This is a hotel that believes in good old fashioned customer service and has ensured that this ethos is practiced by all the staff.Could they do anything to improve the service - No, just keep on doing what you have been doing.We look forward to our next visit;thanks to Alan and all the staff for a fabulous time.

Reviewer:Mrs. Pam Perceval-Maxwell | Mon 12th Jan 2015


another grand stay - Rating 5/5

Yet another fabulous stay at the Shard - Will be back soon

Reviewer:Mrs. Valerie Tasker | Mon 5th Jan 2015


Ideal overnight stop - Rating 5/5

Room was just as we like, crisp white sheets, wood floor, tiled bathroom, big TV. Minimalistic so perfect for us. Tasty breakfast whilst watching wildlife on the Wyre estury a great way to start the day.

Reviewer:Mr. Laurence Edwards | Mon 22nd Dec 2014


The Shard - Rating 4/5

We had an excellent stay. I was most impressed with the interior decor, views accessibility and price.Also the restaurant had an excellent menu and the food was delicious.Thankyou

Reviewer:Mrs. Helen Goodwin | Tue 9th Dec 2014


A great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Another very comfortable stay at the Shard Riverside. Staff are attentive but not obtrusive, food is excellent and the room clean and well equipped. Competitively priced, this remains my hotel of choice when I\'m in the area.

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen Goodwin | Tue 2nd Dec 2014


Shard - Rating 5/5

Very good,great staff,very clean,bar and restaurant very good. Nice peaceful scenic location, ample parking.Must mention the wonderful Christmas decorations, very tasteful and not over the top.

Reviewer:Mr. Joseph Skimming | Fri 21st Nov 2014


Wonderful weekend - Rating 5/5

Stunning location. Clean,cosy comfortable rooms. Friendly attentive staff. Breakfast and evening meal delicious. Can\'t wait to return.

Reviewer:Mrs. Linda Crutch | Sun 12th Oct 2014


An excellent find - Rating 5/5

What a wonderful hotel. Beds comfortable, ensuite ample size, rooms clean and fresh. Breakfast and Dinner outstanding. Staff delightful and helpful. I stay in many hotels across the country for business and this is definitely one of the best, if not the best I have stayed in. Well done.

Reviewer:Ms. Anne Niblock | Sat 11th Oct 2014


Another pleasant stay at the Shard riverside- Rating 4/5

We use the Shard when travelling back from the North of the country to meet with friends. We were greeted with recognition when we arrived although we hadn\'t stayed for over 8 months, very impressive. The rooms are very clean, bright and comfortable. We ate in the busy restaurant with our friends the service is friendly and efficient, the food plentiful, tasty and locally sourced where practical. Check in and enjoy.

Reviewer:Mr. Roger Simmonds | Fri 26th Sep 2014


Wonderful hotel - Rating 5/5

This is a great hotel. The staff are friendly and welcoming and the rooms are spacious and well appointed. Breakfast and Evening Meals are of a high quality with local produce used.

Reviewer:Ms. Sandra Mace | Wed 20th Aug 2014


Short stay - Rating 5/5

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times.The staff have always been friendly and approachable.They serve the best coffee in the local vicinity.Rooms are great and comfortable.Overall a really great stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen Yates | Tue 19th Aug 2014


EXCELLENT HOTEL - Rating 5/5

Excellent hotel, comfortable rooms, excellent food and friendly staff - would definitely recommend

Reviewer:Mr. Gordon Campbell | Sun 10th Aug 2014


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Shard on Friday evening to meet with up with friends prior to a wedding the following day. The room overlooking the river was excellent/modern and the food at our evening meal and breakfast was to a very high standard. Highly recommended and would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Simon Jago | Tue 22nd Jul 2014


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed when attending a wedding in the area, very clean rooms, nicely furnished and with a river view, comfortable bed, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer and liquid soap and hair/body wash in bathroom. Food was very good in the restaurant and full English breakfast was very tasty. Overall an excellent and enjoyable stay and price reasonable. Definitely would recommend a stay here.

Reviewer:Mrs. Monica Arthur | Sun 20th Jul 2014


Nice Place - Rating 4/5

Very nice place, well away from the Blackpool B& B's! Good restaurant and food, friendly staff.Would stay there again.

Reviewer:Mr. Barrie Adams | Thu 17th Jul 2014


Gorgeous! - Rating 5/5

The hotel was gorgeous inside and out, the room was lovely, staff were friendly and helpful and nice and quiet!

Reviewer:Mrs. Deana Shelley | Thu 10th Jul 2014


A Great Place - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay, the room, food and service were all excellent.In all a very pleasant place to stay. Whilst we were unable to explore the local area due to time pressures, the Wyre River and the wider Fylde area generally looks to be worth a longer stay next time.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan Head | Sat 14th Jun 2014


Impossibel top beat at the price - Rating 5/5

We have stayed in The Shard Riverside Inn many timesover the years. We absolutely love the place.Accommodation is superb.The meals, cooked from locally sourced produce, at a reasonable price. would be hard to beat.

Reviewer:Mrs. Maureen Toyn | Thu 5th Jun 2014


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Beautiful location and hotel. Very clean and pleasant staff. Would definitely stay again and would recommend.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kay Cooke | Sat 31st May 2014


Perfect place- Rating 5/5

just simply put, exactly what you need after a long days work or even a short break. Clean, great food, friendly staff. most of all GREAT value for money

Reviewer:Mr. Jonathan Dawson | Fri 23rd May 2014


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Once again was not disappointed with the hotel great room very modern and ultra clean, and great breakfast choice and service.Pity I couldnt say that about the inconsiderate couple who woke me up at 2am coming back to their room drunk loud and swearing

Reviewer:Mr. Les Pybus | Tue 20th May 2014


Very Enjoyable Stay - Rating 5/5

Very very pleasant stay at The Shard Riverside Inn.Warm welcome. Smart, clean and comfortable double room with lovely view of The Wyre. Bar and restaurant area comfortable and stylish.Good friendly service from everyone.Loved the menu and everything was so tasty and fresh.

Reviewer:Mrs. Wendy Paterson | Wed 14th May 2014


Great Stay! - Rating 5/5

Stunning location, helpful and friendly staff, Comfortable room, great breakfast, very enjoyable stay, will certainly return!

Reviewer:Mr. Matthew Wratten | Tue 6th May 2014


Spot on - Rating 5/5

I was working nearby and don't like "eat it & beat it"establishments. What I do like is clean room, comfy bed, friendly staff and great food. If you like the same, book a room here, you wont be disappointed.

Reviewer:Mr. AlanRoper | Tue 6th May 2014


Enjoyable stayl - Rating 5/5

Friendly helpful staff and good food.Very enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael Eklund | Mon 5th May 2014


Shard stay 29-1st May 2014 - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay. Food good and good service from all staff.

Reviewer:Miss. RuthScott | Fri 2nd May 2014


Another pleasant stay.... - Rating 5/5

Yet another pleasant visit to this lovely inn. The high standards of the rooms, the quality of the food and the helpful attitude of the staff never fail to please.

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen Gaulter | Mon 28th Apr 2014


Pleasant Stay - Rating 5/5

Have stayed at the Shard before which is why I chose it again (if only for one night) as I was assured of a warm welcome and a good nights sleep in one of their really nice rooms. Didn't eat this time but the menu looked fantastic. Would recommend to others and would stay again myself.

Reviewer:Mr. Mike Hartley | Mon 28th Apr 2014


Just for One - Rating 5/5

One person;one night;one very satisfied customer. Warm welcome - excellent accommodation - freshly cooked breakfast. I very much hope to return

Reviewer:Mr. Michael Hart | Sun 27th Apr 2014


excellent - Rating 5/5

outstanding staff who were very friendly and helpful.very clean and modern, lovely quiet locationgood food, but the great staff made it 5 stars for meThank you

Reviewer:Mr. Joseph Skimming | Thu 24th Apr 2014


Clean and welcoming - Rating 5/5

I stayed at the Shard on 4th and 5th April 2014.I was greeted warmly by Angela who checked me in quickly and fuss free. The hotel and room were warm and spotlessly clean. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. Dinner was excellent as was breakfast each morning. I good hotel at a fair price privately owned by someone that cares about their customers. I will stay again when in the area without looking for any alternative.

Reviewer:Mr. Nigel Walton | Mon 7th Apr 2014


1 night stay in March - Rating 4/5

Clean and comfortable. Excellent view over river, lovely situation. Everything I needed.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan Rodgers | Sun 30th Mar 2014


Overnight Stay - Rating 5/5

Very comfortablestay, excellent Fillet steak and super breakfast....

Reviewer:Mr. Tim Wood | Mon 17th Mar 2014


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Good food, great service! Lovely stay & definitely will be back again.

Reviewer:Miss. Aideen Mcnally | Mon 17th Mar 2014


Our first stay- Rating 4/5

We had lunched at the Shard Riverside Inn a few times before.Our recent stay was very pleasant with friendly staff, lovely views and good food.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lyn Edwards | Mon 10th Mar 2014


Top Class - Rating 5/5

This is an excellent hotel to stay in, such a friendly welcome after a hard days work. The food is excellent and all the staff make you feel like its a home from home. The rooms are fab, very clean ,modern and the beds so comfortable, I hate staying in new beds but never have any trouble gettinga good nights sleep at the Shard Riverside. I am a frequent traveller and when I come to Blackpool this is my first choice hotel.

Reviewer:Mrs. Marian Bunton | Thu 6th Mar 2014


Fantastic Accomodation - Rating 5/5

I live and frequently travel in the USA. I have stayed at the Shard Riverside several times in the part few years and I find the accommodation and the service better than most US hotels. The rooms at the Shard tend to be a little smaller than in a typical US but in almost every other regard the Shard rooms are superior.

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher Ferguson | Fri 28th Feb 2014


Fab place to stay! - Rating 5/5

Fantastic place to stay, beautiful views, high-end decor, free wi-fi, irresistible breakfast, nice bar and restaurant.Staff all very friendly and helpful as well.Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jenny Guyat | Thu 27th Feb 2014


GREAT SHORT BREAK - Rating 4/5

Nice stay room warm and cosy stayed on the side of the Hotel next will ask to stay at the front.The food is was really good and staff friendly and helpful

Reviewer:Mrs. Lesley Foster | Mon 17th Feb 2014


- Rating 5/5

Beer and food excellent.

Reviewer:Mr. David Hancock | Sun 9th Feb 2014


Shard riverside - Rating 5/5

Another excellent stay at the Shard riverside. The staff could not be more helpful. Accommodation and food first class. The lady on reception even offered to post a letter on her way home!We will be back later this year with family and friends.Thank you

Reviewer:Miss. Liz Evans | Thu 6th Feb 2014


Standards Maintained - Rating 5/5

Once again we had a lovely comfortable overnight stay at The Shard Riverside Inn. The Shard never disappoints, a lovely room, lovely staff and lovely food...... Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen Gaulter | Wed 29th Jan 2014


Perfect break - Rating 5/5

The evening meal was terrific, as was the lovely included breakfast. The room had a great view over the estuary. The bar had Hen Harrier real ale on tap from the local Bowland Brewery. The room was comforatable and warm, despite the terrible weather outside. A perfect weekend break.

Reviewer:Mr. Jeffrey Beranek | Mon 27th Jan 2014


Our stay - Rating 5/5

We only stayed one night with you , but we really enjoyed it.The room was clean and comfortable , the staff were friendly and welcoming, and the food excellent. We're looking forward to staying with you again.

Response

And we look forward to welcoming you back to The Shard Riverside. Thank you for kind review. We pride ourselves on the standards here and you reward us with your words.

Reviewer:Mr. John Cairns | Wed 22nd Jan 2014


Couldn't Fault Anything - Rating 5/5

We were in Blackpool for an event and just stayed one night.All staff we came into contact with were unfailingly friendly and welcoming.The family room was beautifully decorated and a good size with lovely views across the river.We didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment on food from the menu but breakfast was spot on, cooked fresh with plenty of choice.I would recommend this hotel, and if we're in Blackpool again next year will probably stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Allison Wilkinson | Mon 18th Nov 2013


- Rating 0/5

Excellent Hotel, very friendly staff, Restaurant served and cooked very good quality ingredients.Would recommend this hotel.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Yarwood | Mon 11th Nov 2013


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

This is a fantastic hotel.All the staff I have came across are polite and helpful.The rooms I have stayed in are comfortable and spotlessly clean.The meals are wonderful.I would like to give a special mention to the chap with the ponytail, (sorry, I didn't catch his name).He is an asset to your hotel.I stay in hotels all the time all over the country because of my job and I would say that he is the most friendly and helpful person I have came across ever.I will definitely be back if I am in the area for business or even if I was considering a weekend away for leisure.Well done!

Reviewer:Miss. Lynne Mcfadyen | Sun 3rd Nov 2013


Fabulous Hotel - Rating 5/5

This was our second yearly visit to the Shard Riverside & I can't rave about it enough.The rooms are modern, spacious & spotless and the restaurant & bar are marvellous.I love that all food is locally sourced & it states on the menu where it has come from.There were six adults & three children under five in our party & the staff couldn't have been more accommodating, especially with the children.Definitely be back next year!

Reviewer:Mrs. DebraCrampton | Thu 24th Oct 2013


Review - Rating 5/5

What a brilliant place - all the staff are very friendly and went out of their way to make my stay enjoyable.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan Mccarthy | Tue 22nd Oct 2013


Business Colleague - Rating 5/5

I booked a room for a business colleague for an overnight stay. She was looking for a conveniant location close to main roads. The service and attention provided by Paul and all his staff was exceptional. Thankyou to everyone at the Shard.

Reviewer:Mrs. Michelle Lingard | Sat 19th Oct 2013


Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

Family-recommended overnight stay, very comfortable & well equipped accommodation, together with excellent food.No hesitation in recommending to others.

Reviewer:Mr. John Duckett | Mon 14th Oct 2013


brear - Rating 5/5

From arrival to departure, warmth and informed courtesy;the restaurant offers food of the highest quality, all locally sourced;- the riverside setting is stunning. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. Douglas Brear | Fri 20th Sep 2013


Friday night stay - Rating 5/5

First class experience. Warm and friendly welcome, nice location for peace and quiet. Rooms are clean and comfortable if not a little small. Excellent menu.

Reviewer:Mr. Jon Langley | Sun 15th Sep 2013


Weekend break - Rating 4/5

The Shard Inn is an excellent hotel in a stunning location. It has been very tastefully updated without losing any of its character.

Reviewer:Mr. Steven Patterson | Mon 9th Sep 2013


shard river - Rating 4/5

Nice accommodation and good service. i have stayed many times and never been disappointed. i look forward to my return

Reviewer:Mr. David Lee | Sun 8th Sep 2013


A very good Hotel - Rating 5/5

Brilliant, easy to find location, panoramic riverside views.Good parking.Staff were excellent and helpful throughout our stay. Very friendly.Good food. Very clean hotelPlenty of room in our room (no 21), good shower. Bed comfortable but a larger size one would of made a difference.Some form of netting in our 2nd floor windowwould add bit more privacy, but had a good view.We loved our stay and can recommend thishotel.

Reviewer:Mr. John Curtis | Sun 8th Sep 2013


Peaceful, beautiful setting, but convenient for towns - Rating 5/5

A most enjoyable stay. Extremely high standards in all areas, but remaining very friendly & not at all "stuffy". All staff were very helpful & nothing was too much trouble. Interesting menu & food was well presented & tasty. Stayed 3 nights & didn't eat anywhere else, it was so good! Lovely views of tidal river from our room & downstairs in dining room & on spacious patio. Will take binoculars next time to watch all the waterfowl. Local real ale kept in excellent condition. Well done!

Reviewer:Mrs. Maureen Milby | Sat 10th Aug 2013


Good value for money - Rating 4/5

Attractive setting in easy reach of Fylde Coast. Clean and tidy rooms providing good value for money. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Quality of restaurant meals very good.

Reviewer:Mr. JohnDarby | Wed 7th Aug 2013


Shard August 2013 - Rating 5/5

High quality hotel, perfect views over River Wyre and excellent food

Reviewer:Mr. Mike Harding | Tue 6th Aug 2013


Good location - Rating 5/5

great spot over looking the river, good service, good food where you can unwind after a busy day.will stay here again

Reviewer:Mr. Ian Hinde | Sun 4th Aug 2013


lovely room - Rating 4/5

Deluxe Double was lovely. Quiet room, good shower, slightly firm mattress. Breakfast tasty but eggs a little undercooked (not the end of the world by any means). Reception were helpful booking taxis.Would stay again as hotel is good value for money.

Reviewer:Mrs. Hermione Tipton | Fri 2nd Aug 2013


Great Location - Rating 4/5

Good food & drink, great breakfasts, wonderful location, friendly and helpful staff.A little downside was that our standard double room was a little small and considering it's wonderful location we would have prefered a view other than of the car park but I guess we can't have everything!

Reviewer:Mr. Derek Henden | Wed 31st Jul 2013


Room with a View - Rating 4/5

We over the excellent views over the river and the staff are all very friendly and welcoming.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan Grainge | Sun 21st Jul 2013


Good - Rating 5/5

Enjoyable 1 night stay on a business trip to Fleetwood.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kirsty Fraser | Mon 24th Jun 2013


Pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

My wife and I stumbled upon the shard riverside some years ago whilst coming back from a day out in the lakes with my wife and son's, we stopped for a meal and have visited the restraunt five times since, I can't recommend the meal's enough the food and service is excellent a rare quality.This year we decided to stop over to celebrate our 22nd wedding aneversary, a good call it made the weekend with friendly staff and a spacious clean and well maintained rooms that make you feel comfortable and welcome.I will return again

Reviewer:Mr. Ian Fox | Sat 15th Jun 2013


Second Visit - Equally Impressed! - Rating 5/5

This was our second stay at The Shard. It is ideally located in a peaceful, rural location with fabulous views yet still central to all the seaside towns. We made reservations the for evening meal as the food is always very tasty with good portions and at a reasonable price, this last visit was no different. The staff are always on hand and happy to help.

Reviewer:Miss. Sarah Critchley | Wed 5th Jun 2013


Great place - Rating 5/5

beautifl setting, rooms extremely clean and modern. food good, everywhere immaculate. would have loved a river view rom. only downside was breakfast service was very slow but not a big deal and will definately stay again. receptionist and bar staff very helpful and friendly, Great place

Reviewer:Mrs. Sue Cunnah | Tue 4th Jun 2013


Great break - Rating 5/5

Stayed for one night anniversary break. Staff lovely. Room great with view of the Wyre. Restaurant food and service fantastic!

Reviewer:Mr. Nicholas Higham | Sun 19th May 2013


Superb Shard - Rating 5/5

Excellent Excellent Excellent

Reviewer:Miss. Ellie Dean | Thu 2nd May 2013


Beautiful place - Rating 5/5

We thought the hotel was gorgeous and loved the decor throughout. It is clear the owners have a good eye for design and have put a lot of 'love' into the place. We stayed in a signature room and had a great view over the river. We would definitely recommend a stay at the Shard Riverside.

Reviewer:Ms. Julie Sanders | Tue 30th Apr 2013


April 2013 - Rating 5/5

The hotel certainly met if not exceeded expectations. Rooms were modern and clean, staff attentive and friendly and the food was excellent. Certainly well recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. John Gibson | Sun 21st Apr 2013


Overnight stay - Rating 4/5

Excellent river views. Room very clean and quiet. A little small (Standard double) but adequate for our one night stay. Very good food - dinner and breakfast. Friendly and capable staff. Very efficient check in/ check out system. Will certainly return.

Reviewer:Mrs. Margaret Brough | Sun 14th Apr 2013


Our Stay - Rating 5/5

Very polite and helpful staff in all areas of the hotel.

Reviewer:Mrs. Christine Wilson | Sat 30th Mar 2013


Great place - Rating 5/5

If you want all that's best in an Inn don't look farther than Shard Riverside:it has everything.Rooms, Views of the river, Food and Staff can't be faulted.We have stayed in this Inn many times and we are made SO welcome each time we book in.Don't take my word for it, come and see for yourself. Maureen and Jack Toyn.

Reviewer:Mrs. Maureen Toyn Toyn | Tue 26th Mar 2013


Warmth on cold days - Rating 4/5

Very very cold days but a warm welcome and beautiful situation. We enjoyed watching the birds on the mud flats. Rooms were newlyfurnished, perhaps a little on the small side but with good controllable heating. Thank you for a happy stay in Lancashire.

Reviewer:Mr. David Ricks | Mon 25th Mar 2013


Would recommend - Rating 4/5

All staff were friendly, helpful and professional. We enjoyed our stay, including two breakfasts and dinner on Saturday. It was generally quiet at night. Could write plenty of specific good stuff but won't because it's implied above.If you're interested in niggles, here are two, both re the bathroom:1. There needs to be a shelf in the shower compartment., 2. Extractor fan is very loud, a bit of an issue for other half when having to use bathroom in middle of night. (Solution was to climb on chair to operate isolating switch).

Reviewer:Mr. Arthur Pye | Tue 19th Mar 2013


great - Rating 5/5

the hotel is marvelous lovely clean room with some great touched and the bar area was lovely aswell would definatly stay here again

Reviewer:Mr. Jordan Satterthwaite | Mon 18th Mar 2013


Overnight Stay - Rating 4/5

A very enjoyable overnight stay, The room was clean and modern, the selection, quality and value of evening meals was good and the breakfast excellent. My only minor gripe was that my room (5) was next to the stairs and fire door and consequently there was some noise particularly in the morning as other guests were moving around the hotel.

Reviewer:Mr. AndrewBell | Fri 8th Mar 2013


M Perfect night away - Rating 5/5

Absolutely brillant, very clean, great location & very good service.We will be staying again.

Reviewer:Mr. John Leech | Mon 25th Feb 2013


Lovely Place - Rating 5/5

I would recommend staying here to all my friends.The rooms were very clean and the staff were very warm,friendly and welcoming.Excellent food also.

Reviewer:Mrs. Michelle Shkurenko | Sun 24th Feb 2013


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

2nd visit to the Shard Riverside Inn.A warm welcome and when travelling on business, comfortable surround, good bed, exceptionally clean and a hearty breakfast make for a great stay. Home cooked food in the restaurant, all local, and a super local brew from Bowland, I shall return.

Reviewer:Mr. Nick Brookes | Fri 22nd Feb 2013


Short stay near Blackpool - Rating 4/5

Internet booking was very straight forward. On arrival we were warmly received at reception. The room was clean and appeared to have been recently refurbished. A flat screen TV and full tea/coffee making facilities were provided. Bathroom was substantial and included a large corner shower. Bar & Dining Room were clean and pleasant with friendly staff. Both Breakfast and Dinner were substantial with a good selection on both menus. The position overlooking the River Wyre is excellent. We both enjoyed our two night stay and will not hesitate to return at a future date and recommend to friends.

Reviewer:Mr. John R W Dack | Thu 21st Feb 2013


excellent - Rating 5/5

excellent.clean tidy very freindly staff. good location

Reviewer:Mr. Ian Steele | Mon 18th Feb 2013


excellent hotel - Rating 5/5

very relaxing stay and the staff very helpful at breakfast and on reception.

Reviewer:Mr. Syd Carr | Tue 12th Feb 2013


Four star - Rating 4/5

Spent one night at this hotel, room rather too warm but you could open the windows.Good clean surrounds.Personal shower cubicle could do with tiles being changed, shower was good but tiling rough!All areas clean, breakfast very good.Staff friendly and courteous.Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan Webber | Mon 11th Feb 2013


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Travelled up for family funeral and the 'reception' was held at The Shard so convenient to stay there.However, turned out to be more than just convenient - was spotless, service second to none would definitely return next time visiting family

Reviewer:Mr. Kenneth Rutter | Mon 14th Jan 2013


Fantastic Stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed on New Years Eve and had a great time at The Shard. The room was a great size, clean, contemporary and with beautiful views over the river. The staff are really friendly and attentive. Due to the size of the bar and restaurant it has a really personable feel about it. The food was gorgeous. Pricier than what we'd normally pay but well worth it. The drinks prices are really reasonable.Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return in 2013

Reviewer:Ms. Chloe Plomgren | Wed 2nd Jan 2013


First Visit - Rating 4/5

A very comfortable stay - staff attentive but not overly so and always polite. Restaurant food good and sensibly priced. Always a joy to have a freshly cooked breakfast instead of those awful trays of congealed food in a buffet setting. Will certainly return

Reviewer:Mr. David Booth | Mon 17th Dec 2012


Great Hotel - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed our stay at the Shard Riverside. Comfortable and nice rooms with every comfort. Staff were very helpful and friendly and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Breakfast was excellent and the whole stay was extremely good value for money. Our only disappointment was not being able to dine at the hotel, but this was due to a large party booked in at the same time we wished to eat. Will remedy this on our next stay there, the menu looked most inviting.

Reviewer:Mr. Bernard Osbaldiston | Mon 17th Dec 2012


A great place to stay. - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable room, friendly and efficient staff, all in all a great place to stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen Goodwin | Sun 9th Dec 2012


Hidden Gem - Rating 5/5

Lovely Staff, Clean we kept Room, Excellent food. A little getaway heavon

Reviewer:Mr. Darren Reynolds | Mon 3rd Dec 2012


“A GEM OF A FIND!!” - Rating 5/5

Found the Shard Riverside Hotel whilst looking on the internet for somewhere to stay just outside of Blackpool. It's just 7 miles from the centre of Blackpool but you're in a beautiful country location. Got a great deal on a stunning room with views over the Wyre. The staff were very welcoming on arrival, in the bar and also in the restaurant where we had a fantastic meal. It was obvious that first class ingredients were used and cooked to perfection. The following morning a delicious full English breakfast was served by the warm and friendly staff again with top quality produce. Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and I can guarantee that we will be returning in the future.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jackie Royle | Sun 25th Nov 2012


Shard river hotel - Rating 4/5

excellent hotel. friendly staff. excellent rooms. marvelous views over the river wyre.we will be going back.

Reviewer:Mr. Glynn Griffin | Thu 22nd Nov 2012


Wonderful vibrant hotel - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this friendly, warm inn. Staff were all efficient and welcoming and our spacious room had a marvellous view onto the estuary. Shard Inn is perfectly located - far from the madding crowds but within easy reach of everything the Fylde has to offer. Breakfasts are some of the best we've had - try the kippers, delicious! Dinners are tasty and portions very generous although we felt the combinations perhaps a little misjudged, eg beautifully smoked Goosnargh chicken came with tagliatelle in a heavy, creamy sauce which rather over-whelmed the subtle flavour of the meat. That didn't detract from our overall experience and we'll certainly be back to stay and to eat!

Reviewer:Mr. Stuart Smith | Tue 13th Nov 2012


Shard Inn - Rating 4/5

We had a loviley relaxing stay room excellent breakfast was hot an very tasty, views fantastic staff very friendly, had a good Sunday roast really enjoyed our stay

Reviewer:Mr. Thomas Mawson | Tue 6th Nov 2012


Firm Favourite- Rating 5/5

This was our third visit to the Shard and it was pretty much perfect. The rooms are bright and spotless, the bed comfy, heating just right. This time we opted to dine aswell and brought our family in as guests. The staff were very thoughtful and polite, the food very good, fairly priced and served good and hot. The wine list has what you would expect and the local beer made our men happy. Breakfast is cooked fresh with a good selection of menu and buffet items. Overall an Excellent experience in a very peaceful and beautiful setting.

Reviewer:Miss. Sheila Rose | Mon 5th Nov 2012


Great value - Rating 5/5

Excellent service, delicious food and very nicely decorated, spotlessly clean rooms with comfortable beds and good showers. Great value for money.

Reviewer:Mrs. Marjory Pidd | Tue 23rd Oct 2012


Very pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

Just a quick note to say we had a very enjoyable overnight stay. Nice comfy bed & spotlessly clean room. Good breakfast & lunch, also very good. Worth staying here if visiting Blackpool, only a short taxi ride into town.

Reviewer:Mr. Marc Lucas | Tue 23rd Oct 2012


Enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely spacious room and location. We all enjoyed the evening meal - nice and relaxed with friendly staff and guests. Would recommend.

Reviewer:Mrs. Carolyn Hughes | Thu 11th Oct 2012


Excellent Hotel - Rating 5/5

Excellent would recommend without hesitation

Reviewer:Ms. Jan Yeomans | Mon 8th Oct 2012


Home from Home - Rating 5/5

Brilliant as always. Coming to the Shard Riverside feels like coming home. The only problem is having to leave!

Reviewer:Mr. Tim Dickson | Mon 8th Oct 2012


Ideal hotel. - Rating 4/5

Great hotel - lovely restaurant and bar. Friendly and helpful staff. Good, secure parking.Great value for money.

Reviewer:Mr. Graeme Elliott | Mon 24th Sep 2012


Nice Hotel - Rating 4/5

Nice hotel & rooms clean & nice. Breakfast excellent. Had one incident that was sorted professionally & promptly.

Reviewer:Mr. Kevin Handley | Mon 17th Sep 2012


Shard Review - Rating 5/5

First stay and it was fantastic. Just as we envisaged off the net. Only downside was noise from fire doors/creaky stairs with revellers, and hard mattresses but other than that - perfect.

Reviewer:Mr. Anthony Robertson | Tue 28th Aug 2012


Shard Riverside - Rating 4/5

Pleasant friendly stay, and would return.

Reviewer:Mr. Lee Norris | Wed 22nd Aug 2012


Lovely hotel - Rating 4/5

Lovely hotel and fabulous setting.The rooms are nicely decorated and extremely clean. The bed was comfortable.Breakfast at the hotel was delicious with many hot and cold choices.One suggestion would be to offer a later breakfast time when you know it is not a business group.Would stay again and have already recommended to family.

Reviewer:Miss. Emma Gordon | Fri 17th Aug 2012


A good hotel - Rating 5/5

The Shard is really comfortable and stylish. I did not eat there but the menu looked good and the breakfast was excellent. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I would definitely visit again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Wenda Linden | Mon 13th Aug 2012


Good value - Rating 4/5

One night stop but found staff friendly and rooms clean and spacious.Would recommend it to others,

Reviewer:Mrs. Christine Statham-lee | Mon 6th Aug 2012


Stay at the Shard - Rating 4/5

This was our second visit - I think we stayed in the same room which looked out over the river and car park. The room was very comfortable and clean and had everything you need. The food was of a very high standard and the ambience of the restaurant was perfect. Only one negative, as it was so hot we had the window open and the traffic on the bridge was rather noisy.

Reviewer:Mr. Julian Spinks | Thu 2nd Aug 2012


Restaurant - Rating 4/5

My stay at The Shard Riverside Inn was as ever very enjoyable on the whole. However the service in the restaurant was very poor. When my meal eventually arrived I had to send it back as I had asked for a medium rare steak only to be given a well done steak. When the correctly cooked meal arrived it was excellent.

Reviewer:Mr. Karl Jones | Fri 27th Jul 2012


room and breakfast - Rating 4/5

roomlight and airy, bed comfortable. good shower but would benefit from more shelf space in en-suite. lovely views of the estuary from bedroom and dining room. service excellent, staff friendly and efficient. breakfasr good.

Reviewer:Mr. Chris Swann | Wed 25th Jul 2012


you wont be disappointed - Rating 5/5

a very helpful clean and well organised establishment we would certainly recommend this very peaceful location to all our family and friends in future. no complaints here.

Reviewer:Mr. Gary Davies | Tue 24th Jul 2012


No stay - Rating 4/5

When I tried to book a stay, no rooms were avaliable. The person I spoke to suggested a local B& B to try, which worked out great. I therefore cannot review a stay at the Shard. But I can only thank the member of staff I spoke to for suggesting the B& B as I booked a date that coincided with the British Open golf dates. Thanks for your help. (My ratings can only refer to the way the member of staff dealt with my request)

Reviewer:Mr. Owain Gwilym | Sat 21st Jul 2012


Fab-u-lous - Rating 5/5

Excellent accomodation, friendly staff and a warm welcome.The room was clean, modern and very comfortable with a good selection of warm drinks available.The restaurant was very nice indeed and a pity it was raining as I am sure sitting on the terrace looking over the estuary having a meal is wonderful.The food was excellent quality and very reasonable.Breakfast was again excellent, cereals, fresh fruits, and a hearty full English to set you up for the day.One small request, when in the North one expects Black Pudding.I shall visit again without a doubt.Full marks, thank you.

Reviewer:Mr. Nick Brookes | Fri 20th Jul 2012


Basic but Nice - Rating 4/5

The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The view was excellent. The room needs a comfortable chair and racks to put the luggage on. No one informed us that the hair dryer was in the desk! The restaurant was out of 10 mains on a Sunday!The breakfasts and service were the very best part. Don't expect the Hilton and you will not be disappointed !

Reviewer:Mrs. Sheri Brodrick | Tue 17th Jul 2012


Overnight stay - Rating 4/5

Very clean accommodation. A bit noisy by the stairs but that's like anywhere. Cooked breakfast - top drawer.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lynn Fort | Mon 16th Jul 2012


Excellent Hotel - Rating 5/5

Really impressed with this establishment, rooms were of a high quality, ours had views of the estuary and surrounding countryside.The staff were very welcoming and the standard of food offered for breakfast and evening meal was excellent.I would and already have recommended it to family and friends.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael Drake | Fri 13th Jul 2012


accomidation - Rating 5/5

yet another lovely stay at the shard, we have stayed at the shard several times and have no complaints, the rooms are lovely and very clean, the staff are lovely and very helpfull and the food is fantastic it is a little pricey but its well worth it, we will continue to return to the shard and would recommend it to anyone

Reviewer:Miss. Joanne Pritchard | Mon 9th Jul 2012


Delightful stay - Rating 4/5

My stay was a single overnight as I was attending a 50th birthday celebration nearby.The room was a very comfortable and competetively priced en suite.From my bedroom window I had a great view of the river Wyre (moonlit on my return from the party!).My vegetarian cooked breakfast was great and all the staff were friendly and welcoming.The Shard Riverside feels very fresh, clean and efficient and I would recommend it.

Response

Andrew, The River Wyre bathed in moonlight is one of my favourite perks of working at the Shard glad you too appreciated it! Chris Hurst

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Johnston | Wed 4th Jul 2012


Stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely, clean, modern place to stay with wonderful views and fabulous food. Helpful, cheery staff too, would recommend.

Response

Hi Mr Pritchard, thanks for custom. Hope to accommodate you again sometime. From a cheery Chris Hurst

Reviewer:Mr. Gary Pritchard | Tue 3rd Jul 2012


Fab place to stay - Rating 5/5

Great parking great location, friendly staff, great food and rooms very clean and tidy! All at a reasonable price!

Response

Jason, you're very welcome, and a great mini review so a big thanks!

Reviewer:Mr. Jason Mitchell-divers | Fri 29th Jun 2012


One Night Stay - Rating 4/5

Will stay again, well look after, ate in food to a very high standard and value for money overall. Bedroom basic

Reviewer:Mr. James Anderson | Thu 21st Jun 2012


Lovely location - Rating 4/5

Lovely location and friendly staff. Huge breakfast set me up for thr day. Only drawback was that the room was next to the firedoor at the top of the stairs and it banged quite loudly when anyone went through it. Very comfortable overall

Reviewer:Mr. Ian Smith | Fri 1st Jun 2012


staying at the 'Shard' - Rating 5/5

The Shard Riverside Inn is a' jewel in the crown' of the local area. If you're looking for peace 1 quiet in an idyllic location,yet within reach of most amenities,it takes some beating.Relaxing,clean,first class friendly staff, excellent food and great value for money.Plenty of free parking.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael Collier | Fri 1st Jun 2012


Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

Our stay at The Shard was without fault!We were in the area for a christening, so only stayed one night, but I have stayed once before for a wedding, and both times have been more than happy with everything.My husband and I would recommend this venue to anyone!Thank you.

Reviewer:Mrs. Anna Bourne | Tue 29th May 2012


Excellent experience. - Rating 5/5

We stayed at The Shard Riverside Inn for one night. A wedding party occupied most of the hotel that evening, but we were not inconvenienced by this. The room was clean, comfortable and stylish. The breakfast was substantial and tasty. Our only reservation was the Rarebit bar snack. This was overpriced and unimaginative. Overall, a very pleasing stay.

Reviewer:Mr. R DHodgkinson | Sun 27th May 2012


Great way to end a busy day - Rating 5/5

After a busy day of work and travel what a great way to end it by staying at the Shard Riverside.Forget chain hotels with identical rooms wherever you stay, the rooms here are individual and with great river and wildlife views.The Bar/Restaurant food is excellent and very good value, overall I would recommend highly and would come back again.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Hosking | Wed 2nd May 2012


Just so impressed - Rating 5/5

I initially booked online, but had to change my dates - the young lady I spoke to to organise this could not have been more helpful, and emailed me confirmation of the change immediately. On arrival we were greeted by a lovely smile and asked if wanted a reservation for dinner. (This had already been booked by my mother!). The room was perfectly clean, tidy and well decorated and afforded a lovely view of the river . Dinner was absolutely superb, all the staff were very friendly and attentive,yet not intrusive. I would highly recommend staying at The Shard Riverside if you are visiting the area.

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen Gaulter | Mon 30th Apr 2012


Lovely location - Rating 5/5

Great location and great food, although service on the Sunday night was slow, Monday was far better

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Woodroffe | Sat 28th Apr 2012


April 2012 - Rating 5/5

Excellent place to stay with lovely views across the river.Staff friendly and very helpfull. A good breakfast with plenty of choice.Rooms very clean and really comfortable. Would stay here again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Valerie Green | Mon 16th Apr 2012


Beautiful setting - Rating 4/5

From the warm and friendly welcome to the hearty breakfast in the lovely setting of the riverside breakfast room, our very short stay was faultless.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul De Lancey | Sat 14th Apr 2012


GREAT PLACE - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel, rooms extremely comfortable. All the staff were very helpful and the breakfast was excellent.

Reviewer:Mrs. MargaretBlackburn | Thu 12th Apr 2012


Tales from the Riverbank - Rating 1/5

Can we just say what a relaxing time we had over the Easter weekend. We heard about The Shard Roverside Inn from a friend of ours who highly recommended you, and we must say that we were not disappointed. From the first step through the door to our last we were made to feel very welcome. A special mention to the duty manager, who's OCD with the bottles of wine, spirits and drinks glasses( all labels facing the customer), keeping us entertained nearly as much as the hilarious local customers. Also thanks for the tips on where to go on our night out in nearby Poulton, much appreciated. Food very good and to a high standard. Would definitely stay again.Darryl and Tracey ThompsonPS pressed first star by mistake, should be four out of five... Could not change it?!!

Reviewer:Mr. Darryl Thompson | Wed 11th Apr 2012


lovely break - Rating 5/5

lovely clean & bright room,excellent food and a lovely position on the river

Reviewer:Mrs. Linda Fenton | Mon 26th Mar 2012


Thursday 8th. March 2012 - Rating 4/5

Nice place to stay, would recommend to anybody. Food good. Very clean throughout. Staff all very helpful.

Reviewer:Mr. Brian Edwards | Wed 14th Mar 2012


Thursday 8th. March 2012 - Rating 4/5

Nice place to stay, would recommend to anybody. Food good. Very clean throughout. Staff all very helpful.

Reviewer:Mr. Brian Edwards | Wed 14th Mar 2012


Beautiful nice and clean - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed the beautiful stay at Shard Riverside. The room was realy beautifully decorated and clean. Very good Pub and high quality breakfast

Reviewer:Mr. Nicholas Wohlfarth | Mon 12th Mar 2012


our stay - Rating 5/5

this hotel rates as one of best we have stayed in.very clean, food very good. staff first rate. will stay again for longer.

Reviewer:Mr. John Edwards | Sun 11th Mar 2012


First Visit - Rating 4/5

Very impressed;nice people;good food;clean modern & stylish throughout.

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen Roberts | Sun 11th Mar 2012


Excellent value - Rating 4/5

Lovely situation right by the river. The took was fine and really good value at just under £60 for a double.the hotel was very clean throughout. The staff are the establishments biggest asset. Lovely, well mannered and very professional. Especially the man at reception. Won't hesitate to book here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Mervyn Jones | Sun 4th Mar 2012


Shard Riverside - Rating 5/5

Excellent Hotel.All of the the staff are very helpful and pleasant. The food in the restaurant is fantastic.A great place to stay

Reviewer:Mr. Francis Catterall | Mon 20th Feb 2012


Great stay! - Rating 5/5

Friendly staff from the start, forgot my hairdryer but there was one in the room (phew).Staff happy to order a taxi good choice of breakfast - Excellent.Only fault was shower curtain didn't fully go round so floor got a bit wet!Very comfortable room, clean and the whole place smelled fresh.Great location. Top marks

Reviewer:Miss. Susan Dolan | Mon 20th Feb 2012


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

We booked in for an overnight stay as we were going to a wedding close by. the staff were extremely friendly and the food was excellent. We would have no hesitation in highly recommending this hotel. It has glorious views over the river and the rooms were laid out to a high standard.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael Dutton | Sun 12th Feb 2012


Thanks - Rating 5/5

Very clean and pleasant place to stay.Excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. Dave Scott | Fri 27th Jan 2012


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Excellant stay, great view from 3rd floor room. very comfortable nights sleep. Food for evening meal and all inclusive breakfast very good. Enjoyable stay at very competive price.

Reviewer:Mr. Mike Bishop | Sun 15th Jan 2012


Mr Mrs Smart - Rating 5/5

The staff were very kind,during our stay,when my wife did not feel very well.The food and service were excellent.We would stay there again, and would recommend the hotel.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Smart | Fri 2nd Dec 2011


2-night stay - Rating 4/5

This hotel is equipped to a high standard in a modern style and is scrupulously clean.We were fortunate to be allocated a room with a view of the river which provides an ever-changing outlook with the tide. Welcome and service is polite, friendly and informal.The restaurant provides an adequate breakfast in pleasant surroundings.On one evening we chose to dine there and although a little uninsipred initially by what the menu appeared to offer, we were delighted to have persevered as the lamb rump was very good and the steak pudding was absolutely exceptional. Travel a lot, although not to these parts very often, but will definitely make the effort to stay again.

Reviewer:Dr. Alan Smith | Thu 24th Nov 2011


Friendly and good value - Rating 4/5

Friendly staff, nice room, excellent hot water, plenty of controllable heating, good breakfast, oh, and good value!

Reviewer:Mr. Jonathan Cooper | Mon 21st Nov 2011


An excellent overnight stay - Rating 5/5

We only have praise for the way in which were treated during our brief stay at the Shard Riverside Inn. From the receptionist on our arrival to the lady who found our bill when we left, everyone was very helpful and pleasant. The gentleman who helped me - unfortunately I did not get his name, but I know he was an ex cricketer - with the problems that I had getting documents emailed to me was particularly helpful and very pleasant whilst doing so. The evening meal was first class, as was breakfast and if we are ever in the area again we will have no hesitation in staying again.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter Tomlin | Thu 17th Nov 2011


Overnight stay at Riverside - Rating 5/5

We came to Poulton to celebrate an engagement party with family and friends who live in Poulton le Fylde. We found the hotel comfortable with all the amenities we wanted, the staff were very friendly and helpful.We also had a lovely lunch.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sylvia Watson Sutton | Mon 14th Nov 2011


A Weekend at the Shard. - Rating 5/5

Nice room, excellent bathroom, superb food.All very clean and staff very obliging and helpful.

Reviewer:Mr. Hugh Brewster | Mon 14th Nov 2011


A one night stay - Rating 5/5

A very pleasant hotel with friendly and helpful staff.The room was absolutely fine,with a very nice shower and I had one of the best "first night"sleeps I've ever had. The dinner was delicious as was breakfast! The free wifi was a very welcome bonus. I would definitely stay here again, and have no hesitation in highly recommending the Shard - thank you for a very pleasant stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Bill Kenway | Wed 9th Nov 2011


birthday weekend - Rating 5/5

the visit was to celebrate my mothers 90th. birthday with our family. we were most impressed with the hotel location and facilities, the high quality of the food, the standard of service and the warm welcome all staff made to make our stay a very good experience, one we intend to experience again in the near future and to recommend you to any of friens and family. thank you

Reviewer:Mrs. Christine Scott | Sun 6th Nov 2011


Highly Recommend! - Rating 5/5

Room very modern and clean;bed comfortable;staff friendly;pleasant bar area;breakfast good;quiet location;pleased to see carpet has now been laid in hallways to reduce noise.Would (and have) return in the future!

Reviewer:Mrs. Jennifer Plant | Mon 31st Oct 2011


hotel review - Rating 5/5

we would reccomend the sharde its very very clean the rooms are excellent, staff are very friendly and extremally helpfull, and as for the food its fantastic, we will deffentally stay again,

Reviewer:Mr. Leigh Cole | Fri 28th Oct 2011


Shard Inn - great place. - Rating 5/5

Fantastic place, have been there several times now and it is always very enjoyable. Very clean, nice bar and very good food. Rooms are quite not huge but modern and comfortable. The position is great next to the river - it's great watching the tide come in and out. The best feature however is the owner (and son) and the great staff. Will be back again for sure.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jean Thornton | Mon 17th Oct 2011


Stay at Shard Riverside - Rating 5/5

The Shard is in a beautiful location, the check in was effortless and the staff friendly and polite, the room was amazing, lovely and clean and very modern, the little touches like soap and shampoo dispensers the hairdryer and the lovely choice for tea coffee and hot drinks were a welcome surprise. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and very well orgainised - didnt wait long at all - all in all a great stay would stay again and recommend to family and friends.

Reviewer:Mr. Graham Pickering | Tue 4th Oct 2011


Nice place to stay - Rating 4/5

I was staying while attending a wedding and I was in the hotel on my own. The room was clean and the whole place is modern. It had more than 2 tea bags in the room (very important to tea lovers!), everything worked and there was a very pleasant english breakfast in the morning. Staff we're all nice and friendly. I wouldn't neceisarily stay there for a holiday as my personal preference is not for modern places but would definately stay for a weekend again. Thanks Team Shard! Andy from Norwich

Reviewer:Mr. Andy Kendall | Mon 19th Sep 2011


good friendly base to stay for visiting Blackpool - Rating 4/5

Pleasant stay, friendly welcome and much appreciated help with luggage,Comfortable rooms.also plentiful breakfast with choice.Found resturant lacking in basic food choice, but this is just my own preference so would not discourage using it as it looked very nice.

Reviewer:Mr. JohnReynolds | Sun 18th Sep 2011


Shard Shines - Rating 4/5

Very enjoyable stay. All staff were extremely friendly. Room was pleasant and clean. The included Breakfast well presented. Will definitely consider staying again if in the area.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert Chance | Mon 5th Sep 2011


Excellent hotel - Rating 5/5

We were made very welcome once again, although it was only an overnight stop.The rooms are excellent and a lovely breakfast is served.Thank you.

Reviewer:Mr. Terence Casey | Sun 4th Sep 2011


Good Overnight Stay - Rating 4/5

We stayed one night only but were impressed with the quality of the room andthe Menu.

Reviewer:Mr. Hugh Lutener | Sun 4th Sep 2011


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome, all staff friendly and helpful. Lovely modern, light and bright room in super location.Restaurant food excellent, second visit and will definitely stay here again.5/5

Reviewer:Mrs. Joanne Howe | Tue 30th Aug 2011


great hotel - Rating 5/5

stayedfor 3 nights very nice warm and welcominghotel ,staffweregreat

Reviewer:Mrs. Paula Davies Davies | Sun 28th Aug 2011


The Shard Ruverside - Excellent - Rating 5/5

Only a short stay but excellent from booking through to departure. A warm welcome, excellent rooms and far too much for breakfast...what more could you want. 10/10 will use again.

Reviewer:Mr. Terence Walton | Fri 26th Aug 2011


Fabulous and spotless - Rating 5/5

What a lovely stay.Room was exceptionally spotless, beds are scrummy comfy, lovely pillows and a fabulous view accross the river.Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.Staff very friendly and breakfast wonderful.

Reviewer:Mrs. Linda Lowe | Thu 25th Aug 2011


Lovely Hotel - Rating 5/5

Our stay in this hotel was simply lovely. The room was very nicely done out and the bathroom was nice. The view was superb. The restaurant was efficient both at dinner and breakfast and the food was good. The overall price was excellent value. Compared to alternatives such as De Vere's in Stanley Park this was excellent. I would recommend this hotel to anybody.

Reviewer:Miss. JuliaSteel | Thu 25th Aug 2011


Pleasant stay - Rating 3/5

The shard is a pleasant hotel with reasonable facilities. It is located on a tidal estuary which make a nice stroll in the mrning. I stayed in room 7 which is modern and clean. If I were to subway any improvements it would be separate shower cubicle in the bathroom and a later check out time than 10:30. I would recommend the shard to friends and would consider staying again.

Reviewer:Mr. Matthew Allen | Mon 22nd Aug 2011


Great Again - Rating 5/5

Another great stay here. Good food, clean and comfy room, and several very nice pints of Bowland Brewery Hen Harrier real ale. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. Ralph Warrington | Mon 22nd Aug 2011


Shard Riverside - Rating 5/5

Excellent room, excellent location - very friendly reception.An overall 5-star experience.Thanks

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Keenan | Sat 20th Aug 2011


The Shard - Rating 4/5

Comfortable hotel, good food and staff were excellent.Only downside was the weather - extremely windy and rainy so very loud. Situated on the river.Good outlook though would have been much nicer if the sun was shining

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan Read | Fri 12th Aug 2011


Our Stay & Fathers 90th Birthday Event - Rating 5/5

On Friday and Saturday night of last week we were residents at Shard Bridge. From the moment we arrived until the moment we departed we were made to feel very special in every way. From reception to the Bars and in the restaurant ALL of the staff were the most helpful cheerful group of people you could ever hope to meet. The restaurant Manageress 'Tracy' went out of her way with her waiting staff to ensure that my Fathers 90th birthday meal (13 family members) received the very best treatment and my Father had a really lovely day. The food was superb with a veriety of locally sourced produce and all of us thought that it had truly been a very memorable Day, it 'couldn't have been better. I highly recommend this 'Gem' of a place to everyone and the setting is second to none!

Reviewer:Mr. David Hanley | Mon 8th Aug 2011


Family-2 adults, one teenager - Rating 4/5

We have eaten at The Shard several times and always found the food very good and the staff helpful and friendly. This is the first time that we have stayed at The Shard and would certainy recommend it to family and friends. the roo was confortable and the breakfast was excellent;one of the best veggie breakfats that I have had in a hotel.

Reviewer:Ms. Michelle Panton | Mon 25th Jul 2011


Great Place to Stay - Rating 5/5

Comfortable rooms in a great pub location.Good food and great service.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jean Thornton | Mon 25th Jul 2011


Room 8 - Rating 5/5

What a very nice hotel, the food and the staff are first rate, as for the room, what a dissapointment, we had room 8 and got about two hours sleep due to the noise of the air units outside the window, these was running all night, the weather was warm so you could not even have the window open, so the room became a sauna.But I still give it a high mark and would return again but not in room 8.

Reviewer:Mr. Keith Mcguinness | Mon 11th Jul 2011


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at The Shard previously and have enjoyed our stay each time.Whether it's good luck or simply that it attracts a 'higher class of clientele', we don't know, but we have never had any problems with noisy neighbours.Bed REALLY comfy, and room cleaned to a high standard.Just a couple of things to note though ... Intranet booking email stated check in 3pm, but Guest Information in room states 1.30pm - a bit of consistency wouldn't go amiss.Also, don't think it's our imagination that the English Breakfast portion has decreased in size - hungry husband not best pleased!Still, we shall be returning when next in the North West.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jacquelyn Hogarth | Mon 4th Jul 2011


Lovely Place - Rating 5/5

Nice clean modern rooms. Plenty of parking. Comfy beds. Goood food and an excellent local real ale in the pub below. Quiet and restful.

Reviewer:Mr. Ralph Warrington | Thu 30th Jun 2011


All ship shape - Rating 4/5

The Shard Riverside Inn has become the usual place for us to stay when we visit the UK. They offer good modern rooms and the service is good too. Room 7, our room this time, unusually included a bath as well as a shower. All good

Reviewer:Dr. Alan Trinder | Wed 29th Jun 2011


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Was all very good!Thanks

Reviewer:Miss. Alexandra Pepper | Tue 28th Jun 2011


A nice view - Rating 5/5

I booked a singel room, which although small was comfortable, wiht a superb view of the river. As ususal everyone was very welcoming.

Reviewer:Mrs. Ann Crome | Thu 23rd Jun 2011


The Shard Riverside Inn - Rating 5/5

We were very impressed with the Inn. Our room was modern, very clean and fresh-smelling. The bathroom facilities were also excellent. No bath, just a large circular shower cubicle, but perfectly satisfactory. We had a snack before we went out for the evning. Food very tasty, local ham and cheese-nothing processed.We would certainly stay there again. Good value for the price, as no more expensive than the standard chains. Car parking perhaps slightly awkward, as car park slopes quite alot, and fairly full Sat night when other customers go just for a drink. It would be awkward to carry a big suitcase up their narrow stairs...i didn't see a lift.

Reviewer:Mrs. Helen Papworth | Mon 20th Jun 2011


Lovely hotel - Rating 4/5

Excellent rooms and staff are very eager to please

Reviewer:Mrs. Julie Bootle | Sun 12th Jun 2011


QUALITY AT AN AFFORDABLE PRICE - Rating 4/5

WE STAY HERE REGULARLY AND RELIABLY GET GOOD QUALITY ACCOMMODATION AT A REASONABLE PRICE. THE HOTEL IS BEAUTIFULLY SITUATED BY THE RIVER WYRE

Reviewer:Mr. Carl Holt | Fri 10th Jun 2011


Fantastic alternative to the Chains - Rating 5/5

Nice clean rooms with good facilities for the money, staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is really good, both in the bar and for breakfast. A lot of the produce is local. Excellent value for money.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark Dowie | Thu 9th Jun 2011


Business Stay - Rating 5/5

The staff were very friendly- rooms well fitted out - nice and modern, clean, comfortable. Breakfast great. Nice atmosphere, views and great value. Will definitely come back

Reviewer:Mrs. Sarah Tanner | Thu 2nd Jun 2011


Birthday Treat - Rating 1/5

Recommended by friends "The Willowfielders"who book regularly for their annual get together,we were really pleased with our stay.The room was large with a wonderful view, excellent bathroom and was very clean. Our evening meal was delicious and we had a window table as requested.Breakfast was really good, tricky to fault anything! Husband really enjoyed his surprise birthday treat. What a find. Rate the hotel 5 * out of 5 but rating box will not clear !!

Reviewer:Mrs. Pat Home | Sun 29th May 2011


A good combination - Rating 5/5

I have stayed at the Shard Riverside Inn 4 times now and I have always enjoyed my stay.The staff are friendly, but not intrusive.The modern clean rooms are great and I think the price is pitched right.My only slight grumble is that the fire doors can be noisy, so if you want an early night or a lie in, you will be woken up repeatedly as the other guess slam the doors.I guess that is something that a lot of hotels are also afflicted by.Heartily recommended in combination with really good food, I'm looking forward to my next stay.

Reviewer:Dr. Rob Bailey | Sat 28th May 2011


WEDDING WEEKEND - Rating 5/5

we were staying at the hotel for a family wedding. Apart from an initial misunderstanding regarding a partial cancellation on arrival ( a second couple could not attend and the hotel had been previously informed) everything was to our satisfaction and more. Staff were very good throughout, and the breakfast was more than adequate and very well served. all in all, a good experience and we would recommend the hotel to all.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Winder | Wed 25th May 2011


great stay - Rating 5/5

We always have trouble finding a place to stay near Poulton, so the Shard was a great choice. It is very clean and bright and has great vews over the river. Very attentive staff.

Reviewer:Mr Nick Clarke | Mon 16th May 2011


Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

The stay at the Shard was a wonderful experience. The accomodation was clean and very relaxing. The food was excellent and the staff very welcoming and friendly. Would recommend the Shard to anyone visiting the area.

Reviewer:Mr. Vusani Sigola | Fri 13th May 2011


Very clean & friendly - Rating 3/5

The Shard came highly recommended and did not disappoint! The receptionist was lovely and very helpful. Food was good, and reasonably priced. Rooms were very clean but basic, with a lovely view over the river wyre.

Reviewer:Miss. Tracey Devine | Fri 6th May 2011


B&B as it should B - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed an excellent stay at The Shard Riverside Inn,everything was top quality, rooms were clean,breakfast freshly cooked, location by the river peaceful but for us the staff were so helpful and friendly and nothing was too much bother from the moment we arrived and met Rosalyn at reception. Thank you for an enjoyable weekend.

Reviewer:Mr Lovaine Donaldson | Mon 25th Apr 2011


Excellent hotel - will stay there again - Rating 5/5

My two young sons and I stayed here for three nights in April 2011 in a double room with Z bed. The hotel itself was lovely, and we were also very fortunate with the weather. All staff were very friendly and helpful, especially to my children. We ate breakfast (lots of choice, and chef was amenable to changes) each morning, and ate a lovely dinner twice in the restaurant. The only negative is that the water out of the taps was extremely cloudy, so we chose not to drink it.

Reviewer:Mrs. Morag Gaherty | Fri 22nd Apr 2011


our stay Horton - Rating 5/5

We will definately be staying at the shard again, when we come over from Tenerife. The room was spotless and very well presented. The shower was great and we particularly loved the hospitality tray which hotels dont seem to provide these days.The staff were superb , very freindly and helpful. Right from the start to leaving..we sat and had a drink outside in the sunshine before dining, the emal was excellent and well presented. the samll thing we noticed that was missing was light backgorund music in the dining room . We would like to book two more double rooms for September 24th this year please. Thank you we love your hotel !!

Reviewer:Ms. Janet Horton | Thu 21st Apr 2011


Overnight 14/4/2011 - Rating 5/5

Spent one night and had a very good stay. Reception was very friendly as were the staff in the restaurant. Meal was superb, with something a little bit different. Would stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lydia Jennings | Tue 19th Apr 2011


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Conference
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Family Rooms
  • Lakeside
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Country Retreat